TICmbay

Concern Universal, Practical Action, SB Conseil, Aide au Développement Gembloux (ADG), the University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) have formed a Consortium to implement the New Alliance ICT extension challenge Senegal – a new initiative to increase food security for smallholder farmers in Senegal.

The aim of the Consortium is to provide financially sustainable ICT-enabled services to complement other agricultural extension services, using a mix of ICT media approaches. Over the next three years we will implement a phased roll-out of ICT services to support scaled uptake of agriculture technologies in 7 target ecological regions of Senegal. We expect to reach 1.5 million farmers and have a total of 550,000 farmers using ICT enabled services by 2018.

The ICT services to be developed fall into 3 categories:

  1. tools to campaign – raise awareness and promote farmer engagement;
  2. tools to support extension services and
  3. tools to support market access.

TICmbay is the short name we have chosen to refer to this collection of ICT services as well as to the platform we use to manage them. TIC is the French acronym for information and communication technologies (ICT in English) and “mbay” is the word for agriculture in wolof a Senegalese language

TICmbay

Concern Universal, Practical Action, SB Conseil, Aide au Développement Gembloux (ADG) et l’Université de Californie à Santa Cruz (UCSC) ont formé un consortium pour mettre en œuvre le New Alliance ICT Extension Challenge Sénégal – une nouvelle initiative visant à accroître la sécurité alimentaire pour les petits exploitants au Sénégal.

L’objectif du Consortium est de fournir des services TIC financièrement viables pour compléter les autres services de vulgarisation agricole, en utilisant une combinaison d’approches TIC et média. Au cours des trois prochaines années, nous allons mettre en œuvre un déploiement progressif des services TIC pour soutenir la mise à l’échelle des technologies de l’agriculture en 7 cibles régions écologiques du Sénégal. Nous nous attendons à atteindre 1,5 millions d’agriculteurs et d’avoir un total de 550 000 agriculteurs qui utilisent les services des TIC, d’ici 2018.

Les services de TIC à développer sont de 3 catégories:

  1. Des outils pour faire campagne, sensibiliser et promouvoir l’engagement des agriculteurs;
  2. Les outils pour appuyer les services de vulgarisation et
  3. Les outils pour soutenir l’accès au marché.

TICmbay est le nom court que nous avons choisi pour parler de cette collection de services ainsi que de la plate-forme que nous utilisons pour les gérer. TIC est l’acronyme français de technologies de l’information et de la communication (ICT en anglais) et « mbay » est le mot pour l’agriculture en wolof, un lange sénégalais.